Hit enter to search or ESC to close

Board Members

The SBCI Board consists of a Chairperson and eight Board members.

Barbara Cotter

Chairperson (reappointed 12 March 2019 for a five-year term)
Barbara Cotter was a partner at A&L Goodbody, Banking and Financial Services Department for over 20 years. She is now a non-executive director of a number of companies and sits on various panels/tribunals. She is a graduate of University College Dublin.

June Butler

Board member (ex officio member)
June Butler is the Chief Executive Officer of the SBCI since September 2021. June has more than 20 years’ experience in the financial services sector. Prior to her appointment as CEO of the Strategic Banking Corporation of Ireland, she served as Head of SME Banking and Sectors in Bank of Ireland where she was responsible for formulating and driving the strategic direction for the business, including the delivery of the finance and funding requirements of Irish SME’s. She has also led the Groups team of sector specialists providing strategic insight into the needs of Irish businesses across a variety of sectors.

June commenced her career with PwC where she trained as a Chartered Accountant and subsequently joined Bank of Ireland where she has gained significant financial services experience through leadership roles in Group Internal Audit, Group Finance, operations and Retail banking. June holds a degree in Law from Trinity College Dublin and diplomas in Accounting and Taxation and Corporate Treasury and Risk Management from Dublin City University. She is a fellow of Chartered Accountants Ireland and a Certified Bank Director.

Tom McAleese

Board member (reappointed 12 March 2019 for a five-year term)
Tom McAleese is a Managing Director of Alvarez & Marsal Europe and Head of the Bank Restructuring practice in Europe with over 25 years in financial services. Prior to joining Alvarez & Marsal he was Managing Director of Barclays Bank Ireland plc. He previously worked with ABN AMRO Bank in various positions and also at GPA Group and KPMG. Tom is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, a Fellow of the Institute of Bankers and a Member of the Institute of Certified Public Accountants. Tom is a former President of the Trinity Business Alumni and director and audit chair at the Dublin Chamber of Commerce.

AJ Noonan

Board member (reappointed 12 March 2019 for a five-year term)
AJ Noonan is a founder and Managing Director of Rhonellen Developments. He was previously founder and Managing Director of Noonan Recruitment and Professional Placement Group. AJ was Chairperson of the Small Firms Association from 2013 to 2016 and remains a member of the National Council. He is a graduate of the Dublin Institute of Technology.

Richard Pelly

Board member (reappointed 12 March 2020 for a five-year term)

Richard Pelly is the former Chief Executive of the European Investment Fund. He was previously a member of the GE Capital European management team and a Managing Director at Lloyds TSB. He is a graduate of Durham University and a member of the Institute of Bankers.

Eilis Quinlan

Board member (reappointed 12 March 2020 for a five-year term)
Eilis Quinlan is principal in Quinlan & Co. Accountants, a fellow of the ACCA and a Chartered Director. She currently serves as Director of the Irish Small and Medium Enterprise Association and previously served as Chairperson. Since 2011, Eilis has been the Irish representative to the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants Global Forum for SMEs. She also represents the ACCA on FEE, the Federation of European Accountants in Brussels. Eilis is a graduate of Griffith College Dublin, a Fellow of the ACCA and a Chartered Director.

Marguerite McMahon

Board member (appointed 17 July 2020 for a five-year term)
Marguerite Mc Mahon is non-executive director of SME wholesale finance (Funding London) London. More than half her professional career of plus 30 years at the European Investment Bank in Rome, Madrid and Luxembourg, concerned different aspects of intermediated lending to SMEs mainly in the Spanish and Italian markets and to a lesser extent Malta, Slovenia and Croatia. In addition, she has a wide expertise in public and private sector finance, structured finance including PPPs, the banking sector and financing innovation and energy efficiency. Prior to the EIB she was a credit analyst in London. Marguerite is a graduate of University College Dublin, ESADE Business School Barcelona and London School of Economics.

Ian Black

Ian Black

Board member (appointed 4 July 2022 for a five-year term)
Ian Black joined the NTMA in 2013 as Director of Finance, Technology and Risk. Prior to joining the NTMA, he was an Executive Director (CFO/COO) of KBC Bank Ireland with responsibility for Finance, Operations & IT, and Treasury-ALM. He has worked in the financial services industry since 1988. He is a Chartered Accountant, member of the UK Association of Corporate Treasurers, member of the Irish Tax Institute and holds an MBA from Dublin City University.

Deirdre Donaghy

Deirdre Donaghy

Board member (appointed 12 May 2023 for a five-year term)

Deirdre Donaghy is the Head of Business Tax Policy in the Department of Finance. She has responsibility for advising on, and implementing changes to, Irish corporation tax policy, including the taxation of financial services. Before joining the Department of Finance in 2012, she worked for over ten years in tax practice. Deirdre is a Chartered Tax Adviser, holds a Master of Science in Economic Policy from Trinity College Dublin and diplomas in Financial Services Taxation and Financial Services. She is also a member of the Irish Tax Institute and The Institute of Banking.